Every Russian city or town has its own Lenina Street. The principal city of the Krasnoyarsk Territory is not an exception, of course. Here it’s one of three parallel arterial roads located in a historic centre of the city’s left bank. The street was first mentioned in 1735, when it was called Kachinskaya as it started at the point where the Kacha River joins the Yenisey. Since 1823 the street was named Blagoveschenskaya (“Annunciation”) because of the Blagoveschenskaya church that had been erected by the time. The church is a valuable piece of architecture that still adorns the street. A new part of the street history began in 1921 when it got its present name. Today buildings of all kinds can be found on this street: well-preserved mansions made of wood and stone dated back to the 19th and beginning of the 20th century, examples of Stalinist architecture and pretty common standard buildings. Lenina Street is notable for being a location for such famous to Russian people buildings as Krasnoyarsk State Institute of Arts, fabulous Puppet Theater, Surikov historic house museum, that was constructed as early as in 1832, and remarkable wooden mansion built in 1911 that now houses the Literature Museum. What is more, the oldest fire department and one of the oldest schools of Krasnoyarsk are located here. Picturesque Surikov Square with a famous plant-covered sculpture of Giraffes adorns the street. Undoubtedly you should take a walk on such a noisy but neat and vibrant Lenina Street!
Krasnoyarsk, Lenina Street